ITS WGM Minutes 2012 Jan

From HL7Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Return to ITS Main Page

Return to ITS Meeting Minutes

ITS - San Antonio, texas, WGM January 2012

Co-Chairs

  • Paul Knapp (PK)
  • Dale Nelson (DN)
  • Andy Stechishin (AS)

Monday, January 14

Q1

Chair: PK Scribe: AS

The quarter is dedicated to final planning for the week. The schedule on the wiki was confirmed.

A possible discussion on Wednesday on document packaging by NEHTA was requested.

Announcements:

  • Co-Chair election, PK is standing for re-election

With completion of planning, the discussion of a JSON ITS was moved to the current quarter. It was confirmed that there is interest but

If Robert Worden is not in attendance, Monday Q3 will be released.

Q2

Chair: PK Scribe: AS

Discussion

Project discussion - exchanges - ITS/templates/SD - New standard - possibly - MIF/XMI/other(new) unknown/MDHT (Template Exchange Project)

discuss with SD, propose to Templates, see about creation of PSS project to complete phase 0 in current cycle

Q3

Released, Robert Warden not in attendance, JSON discussed in Q1

Q4

Chair: PK Scribe: AS

Reconciliation of XML ITS for HL7 v2.x

There was a discussion around minLength and maxLength in the standard.

DTD references removed.

Block vote to accept not persuasive and minor changes FO/DN 4-0-0

Complete details of the reconciliation are contained in the reconciliation spreadsheet posted to the ballot site.

Tuesday, January 15

No meetings: joined SOA in Q1, InM in Q2 then Structured Docs in Q2, Structured Docs in Q3

Wednesday, January 18

Q1

Chair: PK Scribe: AS

FHIR

The work group was interested in the following discussion points with regard to FHIR:

  • Want to discuss the selection of Atom feeds
  • Path forward
  • No discussion of FHIR ITS - why?

GG first walked through the a RESTful implementation with individual resources going back and forth and loosely defined interaction patterns.

GG then stated that the REST architecture pattern does not work in all situations in healthcare and described the messaging structure.

GG then also worked through the creation of documents using resources. The text representation in each resources would form the text components of the document. In essence, the current display power of CDA is inherent in all resources and bring it to the messaging and other realms.There was a discussion around the use of CSS within the text sections. Each text section would have its own CSS file, this would prevent CSS from one text section overpowering another.

GG then briefly covered how the resources work with SOA architectures.

A discussion ensued starting from the concept of using ATOM feed. GG described the 3 choices: hand-crafted, RSS, ATOM. PK suggested that this was limiting and wanted to explore the concept of 'in-lining' the resources. GG explained that consistently using references made the schema more complex to satisfy individual use-cases.

GG then covered the design decisions surrounding the selection and implementation of ATOM for the aggregation. GG covered the building and layout of an aggregate using ATOM.

PK: question how do we not have flavours of a resource over time. GG: Cherry pick the best of version 2 (and version 3) and the extension mechanism

Q2

Chair: PK Scribe: AS

FHIR - continued

The session continued the discussion on how FHIR would be implemented over the wire.

Limit resources to a single definition

Discussion on the transaction context of sending/receiving/updating/creating resources. Messaging vs REST. Applicability of REST architecture in healthcare.

Back to limiting resources. Schema will be very loose, conformance profile is the mechanism for 'presence'. This needs to be highlighted and upfront. Profiles created for a community or individual messages. HL7 does not really provide 'out-of-the-box' interoperability (CDA is in some ways an exception).

Principles/Rationale/Explanation

  1. Uses W3C Schema for data definition not validation
    • Schema was always insufficient, we make this explicit and addresses the localization/conformance issues
  2. Probably few mandatory or required attributes in resources
    • How to tell people - what is a conformance profile, how is it described?
    • How to describe in machine-processable form
  3. Governance for Resources and Versions
    • How do we stay clean?
    • General discussion of processes, documentation

Final note, relationship of hData to FHIR?

  • They are independent, FHIR resources could be packaged within hData.

Q3

Chair: PK Scribe: PK


ITS 1.1 Reconciliation - refer to reconciliation spreadsheet for details

Q4

Did not meet - all outstanding issues resolved in previous quarter

Thursday, January 19

Q1

No quorum

Q2

Chair: PK Scribe: DN

Planning for next WGM

  • Monday
    • Q1
      • Planning/Hot Topic review
    • Q2
      • FHIR General
    • Q3
      • JSON/Neutral Mapping
    • Q4
      • HTML5 (microformats/microdata)
  • Tuesday
    • Q1
      • joining SOA
    • Q2
      • Joint with InM - Abstract Transport
    • Q3
      • Joint with Structured Docs
    • Q4
      • FHIR Demo/Issues
  • Wednesday
    • Q1
      • FHIR Demo/Issues
    • Q2
      • FHIR Governance
    • Q3
      • FHIR Standards Process
    • Q4
      • FHIR Other topics
  • Thursday
    • Q1
      • Hot Topics
    • Q2
      • Next meeting planning
    • Q3
      • not meeting
    • Q4
      • not meeting

Attendance

Name Init. Affiliation Email Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday
Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
Andy Stechishin AS CANA Software andy.stechishin@gmail.com × × × × ×
Dale Nelson DN Squaretrends dale.nelson@squaretrends.com × × × × × × ×
Paul Knapp PK PKnapp Consulting pknapp@pknapp.com × × × × × × ×
Gerald Beuchelt GB MITRE beuchelt@mitre.org
Lloyd McKenzie LM LM Associates lloyd@lmckenzie.com ×
Stephen Royce SR NEHTA stephen.royce@nehta.gov.au
Sarah Gaunt SG NEHTA sarah.gaunt@nehta.gov.au × ×
Grahame Grieve GG Health Intersections grahame@healthintersections.com.au ×
Brian Pech BP Kaiser-Permanente bpech1@gmail.com × × × × × ×
Yunwei Wang YW Seimans yunwei.wang@seimans.com × × ×
Vassil Peytchev VP EPIC vassil@epic.com × ×
Gaby Jewell GJ Cerner gjewell@cerner.com × ×
Ann Wrightson AW NHS Wales ann.wrightson@wales.nhs.uk
Ilia Fortunov IF Microsoft ilia@microsoft.com
Peter Hendler PH Kaiser-Permanente peter@javamedical.com
Mark Tucker MT Regenstrief mtucker@regenstrief.org
Ewout Kramer EK Furore e.kramer@furore.com × ×
Rene Spronk RS Ringholm rene.spronk@ringholm.com ×
Robert Worden RW Open Mapping Software robert@openmapsw.com
Alexander Henket HL7 NL alexander.henket@enovation.nl
Philip Wilford PW NEHTA philip.wilford@nehta.gov.au × × × × ×
Frank Oemig FO HL7 Germany hl7@oemig.de ×
Rob Snelnick RS NIST rsnelnick@nist.gov ×
Jason Murphy Infoway jmurphy@infoway-inforoute.ca ×
Austin Kreisler AK SAIC austinjkreisler@saic.com ×
Rajan Rai Infoway rrai@infoway-inforoute.ca ×
Dave Shaver DS Corepoint Health dave.shaver@corepointhealth.com × ×
Keith Boone KB GE keith.boone@ge.com ×