This wiki has undergone a migration to Confluence found Here

Difference between revisions of "RIMBAA 201109 Minutes San Diego"

From HL7Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Line 11: Line 11:
 
#*Update of the [[RIMBAA three year plan]] and the [[Creation of a Set of RIMBAA Whitepapers]] project.
 
#*Update of the [[RIMBAA three year plan]] and the [[Creation of a Set of RIMBAA Whitepapers]] project.
 
#*Brief update on the [[Fresh Look]] activities by Michael van der Zel
 
#*Brief update on the [[Fresh Look]] activities by Michael van der Zel
#**No relevant acttivies for RIMBAA, focus is on the standards creation process, specifically on on clinical models.
+
#**No relevant activities for RIMBAA, focus is on clinical models and modelling.
 
#Everest: a MIF based code generator for .net (Justin Fyfe, Mohawk College, CA) (max.30 minutes)
 
#Everest: a MIF based code generator for .net (Justin Fyfe, Mohawk College, CA) (max.30 minutes)
 
#*Everest (see [http://blog.marc-hi.ca/blog/ http://blog.marc-hi.ca/blog/]) is a [[MIF]] based code/class generator for .net. In 2011 it was announced that the toolkit now offerst support for MIFs published in universal-realm normative editions, and the roadmap envisions a Java version as well.
 
#*Everest (see [http://blog.marc-hi.ca/blog/ http://blog.marc-hi.ca/blog/]) is a [[MIF]] based code/class generator for .net. In 2011 it was announced that the toolkit now offerst support for MIFs published in universal-realm normative editions, and the roadmap envisions a Java version as well.

Revision as of 07:13, 15 August 2011

This is the agenda of the WGM in San Diego, September 2011

MON Q3 (13:45-15:00) Business-Icon.jpg Technical med.gif

  1. Administrative agenda items (max 30 minutes)
  2. Everest: a MIF based code generator for .net (Justin Fyfe, Mohawk College, CA) (max.30 minutes)
    • Everest (see http://blog.marc-hi.ca/blog/) is a MIF based code/class generator for .net. In 2011 it was announced that the toolkit now offerst support for MIFs published in universal-realm normative editions, and the roadmap envisions a Java version as well.
      • Note: Everest has been presented before during a RIMBAA meeting, see RIMBAA: Marc-HI Everest. The presentation in San Diego will focus on new developments and experiences.
    • Justin will introduce the toolkit, its architecture, and will show how it can be used in a project to enable v3 support in an application. His presentation will include a coding demonstration.
    • He will also show some of the details of the data type library (See his blogpost: Everest 1.0 Data Type Operations) and how one could re-use the data type libraries as contained in Everest / jEverest (for example, see this blogpost: Connect to MGRID using Everest).

WED Q6 (19:00-21:00) Technical med.gif

  1. Administrative agenda items
  2. Strategic value of the RIM (Jamie Ferguson, VP Health IT Strategy and Policy, Kaiser Permanente, US) (max 30. minutes)
    • Jamie is one of the plenary speakers at this meeting. His talk won't be as technical and implementation oriented as some other RIMBAA presentations, but he has attended RIMBAA meetings before so he's aware of the more architectural/technical background of this group.
    • The topics which will be covered are: Where does the RIM fit in with Meaningful Use and where Jamie see it's used in systems. He'll express his views on using RIM and controlled terminologies in modeling systems
  3. OpenCDS - implementation aspects of a clinical decision support application based on the HL7 vMR standard (Ken Kawamoto, co-chair CDS WG, University of Utah) (max. 30 minutes)
    1. (Kawamoto) A brief introduction to OpenCDS and how it is using the proposed vMR standard (basically a simplified view of the RIM for CDS)
    2. (Andrew McIntyre) demo of the Gello authoring tool and how it can read v3 messages and a vmr defined by the grammar that is being balloted. The relationship with Query Expression and Execution Technology will be discussed as well.
    • As a reference, the standard slide set for OpenCDS is available as the top link in the References section of www.opencds.org.
  4. A SMIRF / CRUD layer concept (requested, max. 60 minutes)
    • Details to follow

THU Q2 (11:00-12:30) Tooling WG Technical med.gif

  • Note: this is a meeting of the Tooling WG, RIMBAA representatives have been requested to attend. See Tooling agenda for this WGM.
  • Topic up for discussion: Tooling Tactical Plan, Formalize liaisons to other WG.
  • The tactical plan will be changed to (at the request of the board) include tools for software implementers [of standards], whereas the focus up to now has been on tools for standards development.
    1. The most important tools are probably v3 code generators (Everest, jEverest, MDHT). A tool like Everest would probably benefit most by a form of 'official recognition' are a 'statement of quality' by HL7, and by a Marketing effort to make it much wider aware that such tools exist. Yes, I'm sure they'd like to receive feedback/review of their tools, and they'll probably take any money we'd care to give them, but in the larger scheme of things 'getting the word out' is probably the key thing towards an increase in adoption of these tools. Tooling could reach out to the creators of such tools, even if the development wasn't part of HL7 or OHT, and form some sort of liason with them.
    2. Another one that we have identified: re-usable data types R1/R2 programming libraries (for validation of data types, to support data type methods such as =, >, != or << -- note: this library is not about serialization/deserialization). The OHT toolsuite has such a library, as has MDHT, the instance editor, Everest, .. and most applications that are serious about supporting v3. Yet all these groups and vendors have had to reinvent a data types library. That is nonsensical. IMHO we'll need to invest some money in creating a re-usable library in c#/Java to support data types R1/R2. One could probably be created by stripping parts from the existing libraries - and adding new stuff.

THU Q3 (13:45-15:00) Technical med.gif

  1. Administrative agenda items
  2. VMR implementations
    • Jan Wittenber?, David E. Shields?, Andrew McIntyre?

Meeting Attendance (marked X)

At Name Affiliation Email Address
  Abdul Malik Shakir COH, US ashakir@coh.org
  Adel Ghlamallah CIHI, CA aghlamallah@infoway.ca
  Alan Nicol Informatics, UK alan.nicol@informatics.co.uk
  Alejandro Pica EMA, UK alejandro.pica@ema.europa.eu
  Alexander Henket E-Novation, NL alexander.henket@enovation.nl
  Alex de Jong Siemens, US alex.dejong@siemens.com
  Alex Zupan ItalTBS, IT alex.zupan@italtbs.com
  Ameet Pathak Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, US ameet_pathak@dfci.harvard.edu
  Amnon Shabo IBM, IL shabo@il.ibm.com
  Andrew McIntyre Medical Objects, AU andrew@medical-objects.com.au
  Andy Stechislin GordonPoint, CA andy.stechishin@gmail.com
  Anil Luthra , US aluthra@alfisconsultants.com
  Ann Wrightson NHS Wales, UK ann.wrightson@wales.nhs.uk
  Assaf Halevy DBmotion assaf.halevy@dbmotion.com
  Bill Friggle Sanofi Aventis, US william.friggle@sanofi-aventis.com
  Brian Pech KP, US brian.pech@kp.org
  Bruce McKinnon JassCo, CA bruce.mckinnon@jassco.ca
  Charlie McCay Ramsey, UK charlie@ramseysystems.com
  Chirag Bhatt FEI Systems, US chirag.bhatt@feisystems.com
  Chris Melo Philips, US chris.melo@philips.com
  Chris Winters Vocollect Healthcare Systems, Inc., US cwinters@healthcare.vocollect.com
  Dale Nelson , US dale.nelson@squaretrends.com
  Dan Kokotov 5AM Solutions, US dkokotov@5amsolutions.com
  Dave Barnet NHS, UK david.barnet@nhs.net
  David Rowed Ocean Informatics, AU david.rowed@oceaninformatics.com
  Dave Shaver Corepoint health, US dave.shaver@corepointhealth.com
  Diane Gutiw SAIC, US gutiwd@saic.com
  Duana Bender Mohawk College, CA duane.bender@mohawkcollege.ca
  Ed Larsen Larsen Inc., US e.laresen@ix.netcom.com
  Ernst de Bel UMCN, NL e.debel@ic.umcn.nl
  Ewout Kramer Furore, NL e.kramer@furore.com
  Gavin Morris Kestral, AU gavinm@kestral.com.au
  Geoffry Roberts Blue Thread LLC, US geoffry.roberts@gmail.com
  George de la Torre Tufts Health, US delatorre.george@gmail.com
  Gordon Raup Datuit LLC, US graup@datuit.com
  Grahame Grieve AU grahameg@gmail.com
  Heath Frankel Ocean Informatics, AU heath.frankel@oceaninformatics.com
  Hugh Glover BlueWave Informatics, UK hugh_glover@bluewaveinformatics.co.uk
  Hugh Leslie Ocean Informatics, AU hugh.leslie@oceaninformatics.com
  Ian Bull ACT health, AU ian.bull@act.gov.au
  Ilia Fortunov Microsoft, US iliaf@microsoft.com
  Jane Curry HIS inc, CA JaneCurry@healthinfostrategies.com
  Jean Henri Duteau GPI, CA jean.duteau@gpinformatics.com
  John Finbraaten Marshfield Clinic, US finbraaten.john@marshfieldclinic.org
  John Harvey Iatric, US john.harvey@iatric.com
  John Koisch Guidewire Architecture, CA jkoisch@guidewirearchitecture.com
  John Timm IBM, US johntimm@us.ibm.com
  John Ulmer ??, US johnu@clemson.edu
  Kai Heitmann Heitmann Consulting, DE hl7@kheitmann.de
  Kenneth Salyards SAMSHA, US kenneth.salyards@samsha.hhs.gov
  Kenneth Weng CareFx, US kweng@carefx.com
  Lee Coller Oracle, US lee.coller@oracle.com
  Linda Birn MOH Holdings, SG linda.birn@mohh.com.sg
  Lyssa Neel Infoway, CA pneel@infoway.ca
  Lorraine Constable CA lorraine@constable.ca
  Marilyn Maguire Fuji Med, US marilyn.maguire@fujimed.com
  Mario Roy Iatric, US mario.roy@iatric.com
  Mark Bevivino Iatric, US markb@iatric.com
  Mark Shafarman Shafarman Consulting, US mark.shafarman@earthlink.net
  Mark Tucker Regenstrief, US mtucker@regenstrief.org
  Massimo Frossi Ital TBS, IT massimo.frossi@italtbs.com
  Michael van der Zel Groningen University Hospital,
and Results4Care, NL
m.van.der.zel@umcg.nl
  Mike Rossman KP, US michael.k.rossman@kp.org
  Muhammad Afzal SEECS, PK muhammad.afzal@seecs.edu.pk
  Nick Radov Axolotl, US nradov@axolotl.com
  Patrick Loyd GPI, CA patrick.c.loyd@gmail.com
  Pascal Mattiocco KP, US pmattiocco@yahoo.com
  Paul Boyes Guidewire Architecture, CA pboyes@guidewirearchitecture.com
  Peter Gummer Ocean Informatics, AU peter.gummer@oceaninformatics.com
  Peter Hendler KP, US peter@hendler.net
  Rene Spronk Ringholm, NL rene.spronk@ringholm.com
  Richard Kronstad Carefacts, UK rkronstad@carefacts.com
  Richard Thoreson SAMSHA-CSAT, US richard.thoreson@samsha.hhs.gov
  Rik Smithies NHS, UK rik@nprogram.co.uk
  Robert Worden Charteris, UK robert.worden@charteris.com
  Sam Heard Ocean Informatics, AU sam.heard@oceaninformatics.com
  Sean Muir VA, US sean.muir@va.gov
  Scott Parkey Axolotl, US sparkey@axolotl.com
  Stacy Berger COH sberger@coh.org
  Steven Royce NEHTA, AU stephen.royce@nehta.gov.au
  Steve Fine Cerner, US sfine@cerner.com
  Tessa van Stijn Nictiz, NL stijn@nictiz.nl
  Tim Dodd CA tim.dodd@health.gov.sk.ca
  Tod Ryal Cerner, US tryal@cerner.com
  Todd Parnell 5AM Solutions, US tparnell@5amsolutions.com
  Tony Lam MOH Holdings, SG tony.lam@mohh.com.sg
  Vassil Paytchev Epic, US vassil@epic.com
  Yunwei Wang Siemens, US yunwei.wang@siemens.com
  Zhijing Liu Siemens, US zhijing.liu@siemens.com